West Asia Premiership Champions 2023-24 - The Dubai Tigers

Dubai Tigers Crowned West Asia Premiership Champions 2023/24

Published On: 14 Apr 24By 2.1 min read
Visit YallaRugby.com for up to date scores and league table standings
Visit YallaRugby.com for up to date scores and league table standings

The Dubai Tigers lifted the West Asia Premiership trophy for the first time by beating 3 time reigning champions, Bahrain 28-19 in front of a packed home crowd in the shadow of the Burj Al Arab on Saturday.

Dubai Tigers RFC - West Asia Premiership Champions

After a nervy start, where the visitors took an early lead, the Tigers created a 10 point buffer going into the halftime break at 17-7 with tries from Moli Schaumkel, Charlie Taylor and Saki Naisau.

Saki Naisau scores for. the Dubai Tigers

Two early second half tries for Bahrain brought them within reach, but was short lived as Tigers halfback Matt Gilham nudged over two penalties in front of the sticks and dotted a late try to confirm the title.

The West Asia Championship adds to their second piece of silverware in what is their 10th anniversary season since formation.

The Tigers will surely be chasing the treble after winning the Dubai Sevens title back in December and a potential domestic UAE Premiership title up for grabs later this month.

“I am overwhelmed by the growth of the club over the last ten years. Watching our mini and youth players train and get behind our men’s team means the world to me. To have the support of our parents and sponsors was amazing. And lastly to get the win was really the icing on the cake and I am super proud of all the players, coaches, managers and medics! It wouldn’t be the club it is without them all” said Club Chairman Shane Thornton.

Director of Rugby, Peter Kelly added;

“It’s our 10th year anniversary for the Tigers, so we’re really pleased to get the victory. It’s definitely our biggest win. They’ve kind of set the standard over the last six or seven years with regards to the level that everyone needs to be at.”


  • Referee: Jaco De Wit
  • Assistant Refs: Matt Riley, Brayden Hudson

Dubai Tigers Team

  1. Deanne Makoni
  2. Mosese Toafa
  3. Duane Aholelei (C)
  4. Esekaia Dranibota
  5. Rory Smith
  6. Marcus Guerin
  7. Fabien Rivalland
  8. Epeli Davetawalu
  9. Moli Schaumkel
  10. Matthew Gilham
  11. Niko Volavola
  12. Jerome Harimate
  13. Saki Naisau
  14. Nick Cliffe
  15. Charlie Taylor
  16. Siphatho Phanta
  17. Callum McKay
  18. Jone Bola
  19. Max Pendry
  20. Emosi Ratuvecanaua
  21. Vito Tuivione
  22. Kobi Bates
  23. Oliver Shepherd

Bahrain Team

  1. Matthew Mickee
  2. Lindsey Gibson
  3. Pierson Kennington
  4. Aled Morris
  5. Awethu Lushozi
  6. William Burroughs
  7. Rory Drummond
  8. Alastair Crombie (C)
  9. Caprice Cocker
  10. Mason Porteous
  11. Greg Heath
  12. Adam Wallace
  13. David Evans
  14. Joel Kidgell
  15. Deina Morete
  16. Nick Young
  17. Gerhard Cronje
  18. Fiachra Wynne
  19. Jack Jarvis
  20. Rhys Fitzgerald
  21. Daniel Dryden
  22. Joel Lewis
  23. Matthew Richards

Subscribe to our Newsletter.
Get the best of Gulf Rugby straight to your inbox.